” We remain in love!” “The sex was consensual!” “My partner’s almost an adult!”
Each of these declarations might be real, however if one sexual partner is under the age of 17, and the other is not, the older individual is exposed to charges of statutory rape.
Colorado law clearly states it is prohibited to make love with a small under 17, even if the victim voluntarily engages. There are just 2 exceptions: when sexual partners are close in age, and when they’re a couple.
Even then, depending on the age argument can be a dicey video game to play.
Our suggestions?
If your teenager is sexually active, or might end up being sexually active, talk with them about the legal threats they might be taking. Statutory rape is still rape, and if your teenager end up in this circumstance she or he might deal with really major charges and charges.
In this post, we share the essentials about Colorado’s statutory rape laws. Need to you still have concerns after checking out, connect to a skilled Colorado statutory rape defense lawyer to read more.
Colorado’s Age of Authorization
The Colorado age of authorization is 17 years of ages. This is specified as the minimum age at which a person is lawfully old enough to grant sex.
People 16 years of age or more youthful are ruled out efficient in granting sex.
For that reason, making love with anybody 16 or more youthful is thought about non-consensual.
When this law is broken, it might lead to prosecution for statutory rape. Once again, there are just 2 exceptions to this guideline.
Let’s take a better look …
Close-In-Age and Marital Relationship Exemptions in Colorado
A truth of modern-day society is that teenagers typically end up being sexually active well prior to the age of 17. Due to the fact that of this, Colorado statutory rape law consists of close-in-age exemptions:
- 15- and 16-year-olds can legally participate in sex with partners less than ten years older
- Minors under 15 can take part in sex with people less than 4 years older
Colorado likewise permits a spousal exemption from statutory rape charges when sexual partners are lawfully wed. The legal age at which somebody can get wed is 18, however Colorado will enable 16- and 17-year-olds to wed with adult authorization or judicial approval.
When neither of these conditions is fulfilled, the implicated might deal with major legal consequences.
Colorado’s Statutory Rape Laws and Prospective Charges
Must breaching the age of approval lead to charges of statutory rape, upon conviction, charges are evaluated based upon the ages of the accused and the victim.
Here are the charges most often pushed:
Sexual Attack and the 4-year Close-in-Age Exemption
A person who is at least 4 years older appealing in sex with a small under 15 is thought about a Class 4 felony, punishable by 2-6 years in jail and needed sex culprit registration.
Sexual Attack and the 10-year Close-in-Age exemption
People who are at least 10 years older, and make love with any small in between 15 and 17 are devoting a Class 1 Misdemeanor, which brings a 6-18-month prison sentence and possible sex transgressor registration.
Sexual Attack of a Kid
Any sexual touching (however not penetration) with a small 14 years of age or more youthful when the offender is at least 4 years older than the small is charged as sexual attack of a kid. This is a Class 4 Felony, punishable by 2-6 years in jail and needed sex culprit registration.
Kid Porn
“ Sexting” with a small under the age of 17 can lead to the quite-serious charge of kid porn, which might lead to prison time and potentially a diversion program.

” Love” might be blind to age, however Colorado lawmakers and police are not. What your teenager might consider a puppy love might end up altering their course permanently.
That’s why it is essential for you to understand and to talk with your teenager( s) about the laws surrounding statutory rape. It might suggest the distinction in between jail time and a regular life.